Hot N Fast Method for Fantastic BBQ Brisket


Check out this smoke ring

Check out this smoke ring

OK … in my last post I shared how we cooked for 800 people using the Hot N Fast Method.   Since then, I’ve been really wanting to try that method at home on a smaller scale – just for the family.   Well, I got the chance recently and decided to chronicle my process and the results.   This will be a long post with lots of pics, so take your time reading it and come back often to refer to it as you try this method also.   For those of you who want to know how it turned out without scrolling all the way down to the end – it was my best brisket ever!   Not perfect, though … I’m still on my quest for the perfect brisket, but feedback from my family and guests who gobbled it up say it was definitely my best.   I’ll be cooking with this method again, for sure.

I cooked a standard packer trimmed brisket from my local grocery store. I believe it is more cost-effective to trim the beef yourself, rather than pay a much higher price/lb for butcher-trimmed beef. This one started out as 14 pounds and had decent flexibility. I season simply, mostly salt and pepper – but recently have really grown to like Montreal Steak Seasoning on many cuts of beef, and that’s what I used here.

TIP: drape brisket you are considering over your arm at the store … choose a brisket that is flexible and not too stiff.

Here’s a few of pics of my brisket after trimming and seasoning. Note that I also trim the large fat pocket between the flat and the point, making a flap that folds back about half way.  Also note the bag of fat that has been removed … I didn’t weigh it, but it there was prolly about 1.5-2 pounds of fat removed.

Trim Fat Cap to 1/4

Trim Fat Cap to 1/4″

Trimmed Bottom Side

Trimmed Bottom Side

Fat pocket trimmed out

Fat pocket trimmed out

Season under the flap too!

Season under the flap too!

BBQ Brisket 030

I used pecan and hickory smoke this brisket.    To get it all going, I used lump charcoal initially, then added chunks of pecan and hickory for the actual smoking flavor.   See below:

Charlcoal, Pecan, and Hickory

Charlcoal, Pecan, and Hickory

Use a Chimney to start coals

Use a Chimney to start coals

The Firebox is ready

The Firebox is ready

Get a good draft going, and get the temperature cranked up to 325-350 Fahrenheit – this is the Hot N Fast temp you’ll strive to keep.   When the pit is warmed up and steady, place your brisket on the grates.   This may be controversial, but I put the brisket fat cap DOWN, as I believe the fat helps provide some protection from the heat.

Keep the heat between 325 and 350

Keep the heat between 325 and 350

Adjust temps from the chimney

Adjust temps from the chimney

All seasoned up

All seasoned up

I check the temperature and adjust the firebox about every 30 minutes.   Keep the lid closed as much as possible.    You will now be smoking the brisket for about 3 hours.   Start checking the temperature with a thermopen at about 2.5 hours.   You’re looking for a temperature reading in the thickest part of the brisket of 160 Fahrenheit.   When you get to 160, wrap the brisket in foil along with a liquid (beer, apple juice, or beef broth) and place it back on the smoker to continue heating.

Wrap at 160

Wrap at 160

Wrapped and back on the smoker

Wrapped and back on the smoker

A fav view --- smoke and sunset

A fav view — smoke and sunset

You cook brisket to temperature, not time.   Sometimes your brisket will plateau and sit at a particular temp for an hour or more.   It can be frustrating, but don’t fret, you just have to cook through it.   Keep your firebox going, enjoy another beverage, and you will eventually get rewarded with a beautiful hunk of beef cooked to 200 Fahrenheit.

Take it offf at 200

Take it offf at 200

Let it rest - I used a cooler

Let it rest – I used a cooler

After the rest period is over – or when you can’t fend off your guests any longer – carve and serve.   This one came out wonderful – very tender, juicy and flavorful.   I’m not sure I’ll go back to long and slow again …

Cutting it

Cutting it

Check out this smoke ring

Check out this smoke ring

Overall cook time was about 5 hours for this brisket.   Add another hour in prep and heating the smoker … and another hour for the rest period.   Not a bad day’s work.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Hot N Fast Method for Fantastic BBQ Brisket

  1. Oh man, that’s living! Nicely done.

  2. Jimmy says:

    I appreciate your input. Great pictures. Thank you for the post. I’m doing my first brisket today. I wanted to cook it faster than that 225 or 250 and so this was a perfect post

Leave a comment